Josh Selby (who?!) gets more Rookie of the Year love than Enes Kanter and Alec Burks

Photo by Jennifer Pottheiser/NBAE - Getty Images

The Jazz’s two NBA newcomers didn’t receive any votes for the 2011-12 Rookie of the Year award.

Both Enes Kanter and Alec Burks had their moments and contributed nicely at times for the Jazz in their first years, but it is not a surprising development that they didn’t get any Rookie of the Year attention.

Associated Press photo

That is, until you consider this: Josh Selby finished 12th in the voting for the prestigious award.

To answer your “Who?” question: Selby, a point guard from Kansas, played in 28 games for the Memphis Grizzlies this past season. And take a look at his shining stats: 2.3 points, 1.1 assists while shooting 34.7 percent from the field and 13.3 percent from 3-point range. (Granted, that long-range percentage would’ve made him one of the Jazz’s better shooters, but still. … Yes, I’m kidding.)

To compare the Jazz rookies to Selby’s less-than-stellar rookie campaign:

Burks: 7.2 ppg, 2.2 rpg, 0.9 apg, 42.9 FG%, 33.3 3PT%

Kanter: 4.6 ppg, 4.2 rpg, 0.1 apg, 49.6 FG%

If Selby deserved a third-place vote, Burks could’ve won the award and Kanter could’ve finished second. By the way, if Selby doesn’t ring a bell, it’s probably because he played a grand total of zero minutes in the three Jazz-Grizzlies games this past season and only appeared in 28 contests his entire rookie campaign.

For the record, my ballot reflected the final results: 1. Kyrie Irving, 2. Ricky Rubio, 3. Kenneth Faried.

Here are the official results for the Eddie Gottlieb Trophy as voted upon by a panel of U.S. and Canadian sports writers and broadcasters (most of whom don’t make silly votes):

Rookie, Team        1st        2nd        3rd        Total
Kyrie Irving, Cleveland        117        2        1        592
Ricky Rubio, Minnesota                –        49        23        170
Kenneth Faried, Denver                1        30        34        129
Kawhi Leonard, San Antonio        1        9        15        47
Iman Shumpert, New York           1        7        7        33
Klay Thompson, Golden State        –         5        15        30
Isaiah Thomas, Sacramento        –        6        10        28
Brandon Knight, Detroit                –        6        3        21
Chandler Parsons, Houston        –        3        5        14
MarShon Brooks, New Jersey        –        1        1        4
Kemba Walker, Charlotte        –         –        3        3
Josh Selby, Memphis                 –         –        1        1

Comments are closed.